Saturday, June 25, 2022
HomeSportsPatrice Bergeron sets NHL record with fifth Selke Trophy

Patrice Bergeron sets NHL record with fifth Selke Trophy

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron has won the 2022 Frank J. Selke Trophy as “the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.”

Bergeron, 36, received 160 of 195 first-place votes to capture the award for the fifth time in his career. The Selke Trophy is voted upon by members of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Elias Lindholm (Calgary Flames) and Aleksander Barkov (Florida Panthers) were also named finalists for the award, with Ryan O’Reilly (St. Louis Blues) and Anthony Cirelli (Tampa Bay Lightning) rounding out the top five vote-getters.

Bergeron became the first player to win the Selke Trophy five times, passing legendary Montreal Canadiens forward and four-time winner Bob Gainey. The NHL introduced the award in 1978, with Gainey being named the winner in each of its first four years of existence.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular